Springfield SJ-R Unit Up, Running

Our new unit at the Springfield State Journal-Register elected its first set of officers Saturday. Here is the account from the unit chair, Dean Olsen:

We unionized to have a formal voice in preserving quality journalism in the state capital. Now we are starting to work toward our first contract.

On Nov. 17, our unit selected officers. They are:

Unit chairman: Dean Olsen
Vice chairman: Chris Wetterich
Recording secretary: Molly Beck
Treasurer: Ryan Mahan

These officers are automatically on the bargaining team. Additional team members are: Doug Finke, Marilyn Lynch, Kathy Rem, Tim Landis and Bob Reed.

To follow developments in Springfield, check out their new blog.