UMG Members Choose Executive Committee


Through its recent nomination process, which saw no offices contested, the United Media Guild’s Executive Committee in 2013 will consist of the following:

  • President: Jeff Gordon.
  • First VP: David Carson.
  • Second VP: Joe Kenny.
  • Treasurer: Tim Logan.
  • Secretary: Doug Moore.
  • St. Louis Post-Dispatch unit chair: Joe Holleman.
  • Pekin DailyTimes unit chair: Sharon Harris.
  • Post-Dispatch delegate: John Mues.


The new Executive Committee will be sworn in at our Annual Dinner in late January.  Our new Springfield State Journal-Register unit will select its chairman and other officers during its initial meeting Saturday.   Jobs with justice, KSDK-TV, The Labor Tribune, St. Louis Review, Peoria Journal Star, Truthout, and Workers Interfaith Network still must hold unit meetings to select their unit officers.


So congratulations to our incoming newbies – as well as our returning EC members – and a big vote of thanks for those who are departing:  Deni Fleming, Jim Gallagher, Barry Gilbert and Laurie Waterhouse.  Your dedication and unwavering commitment to justice on the job often meant spending late nights in the Guild office.  Whether it was an arbitration case, a contract fight or one of our seemingly endless legal battles, you stood like a rock against an onslaught of corporate attacks and, because you were so strong, this local will endure.  Thank you.