Top UMG officers return for new terms

The United Media Guild held two local meetings Wednesday for the purpose of receiving nominations for unit and local-wide officers.

The result: No contested offices and the return of each of the UMG-wide officers to their position.

Returning for new terms are:

Jeff Gordon, UMG president.
David Carson, 1st vice president.
Joe Kenny, 2nd vice president.
John Mues, treasurer.
Doug Moore, secretary.

Most of our St. Louis-area units also made nominations and there were no contested positions. The following members will serve new terms:

Joe Holleman, St. Louis Post-Dispatch unit chair
Lisa Johnston, St. Louis Review unit chair.
Lauren Marshall, Labor Tribune unit chair.
Ashli Bolden, Jobs with Justice unit chair.
Rod Wright, UNICOM unit chair.
Jeshua Schuster, Workers Interfaith Network unit chair.

We gained two new executive committee members representing our Post-Dispatch unit, Beth O’Malley and Denise Hollinshed. They join our various unit chairs and the UMG-wide officers on the committee, which meets monthly to govern the local.

Several units have yet to nominate and, if necessary, elect their unit chairs and representatives to the executive committee. We hope to wrap that up within the next few weeks.

And speaking of that, we want to take this opportunity to thank long-time KSDK unit chair Michael “Scooter” Daugherty for his many years of service to the Guild. He recently retired from the television station after long and successful run.